Aegerter battles difficult conditions at the season finale

The final weekend of this year's FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup began with changeable conditions in Misano. Dominique Aegerter finished in fifth place ahead of Saturday morning's E-Pole and is confident of fighting for a good grid position for the first of two races this weekend.

Neither Dynavolt Intact GP rider Dominique Aegerter nor his 17 competitors in the FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup 2021 had expected rain in Misano. But Friday had just about everything to offer in terms of weather - from glorious sunshine in FP1 to a rain-soaked track in the second free practice session.

In FP1, the rider from Rohrbach placed himself in P5, and with his best time of 1.44.328, he was exactly 0.445s behind leader Eric Granado, who together with Jordi Torres were the only ones who were able to set a time under 1.44s. Especially in the first two sectors, the 30-year-old Aegerter lost most of the time, which caused a lot of set-up work for his crew.

Unfortunately, the conditions changed in the course of the day, so that the FP2 started as a wet session. There was only little time to adjust himself and the bike to the wet 4.2 km track. In the end, the Dynavolt Intact GP rider did not take the full risk, which explains his eleventh place in FP2. The lap times were about ten seconds slower compared to the morning, leaving the positions in the combined classification unchanged.

Despite the difficult conditions and only partially satisfactory results, the cheerful Swiss does not lose his confidence ahead of the E-Pole, which is scheduled for 11:45 am (CET) on Saturday. The first race of the weekend will then start in the afternoon at 16:20. Dominique Aegerter will definitely try everything in his power to postpone the title decision until Sunday.

1. Eric GRANADO / BRA / ENERGICA - 1'43.883
2. Jordi TORRES / SPA / ENERGICA - 1'43.973 (+0.090)
3. Alessandro ZACCONE / ITA / ENERGICA - 1'44.187 (+0.304)
5. Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / ENERGICA - 1'44.328 (+0.445)

1. Miquel PONS / SPA / ENERGICA - 1'53.003
2. Jordi TORRES / SPA / ENERGICA - 1'53.389 (+0.386)
3. Fermín ALDEGUER / SPA / ENERGICA - 1'53.878 (+0.875)
11. Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / ENERGICA - 1'55.331 (+2.328)