LIQUI MOLY Intact GP duo optimistic after first familiarization with Mandalika Circuit

With wet conditions in the morning and tropical hot temperatures in the afternoon, the brand new Mandalika Street Circuit had everything in store to push racers to their limits. Marcel Schrötter and Jeremy Alcoba finished Day 1 in Indonesia just 0.009s apart in P15 and P16 respectively, missing out on a provisional Q2 entry by a slim 0.106s.

Full of excitement, the two riders from the German LIQUI MOLY Intact GP racing team rolled out of the pits on Friday onto the 4.3 km Mandalika Street Circuit on the island of Lombok, which had been soaked by early morning rain. Initially, the Moto2 riders slowly made their way around the new track to familiarize themselves, but as the asphalt dried, the times gradually became faster.

Marcel Schrötter lacked some confidence in his Kalex, especially in the fast corners, but the 29-year-old is positive about his potential Q1 start after finishing P15 in the combined standings on Friday. Every minute and every lap more helps to better understand the track on Lombok, which is just a stone's throw from the coast. With his best time from FP2, a 1'37.191, he is 1.294s behind the leading Briton Jake Dixon. Despite the gap, the Bavarian is confident of being able to move up a notch on Saturday.

0.009s behind the German followed his new teammate Jeremy Alcoba. The gaps are close, the level is high, but the 20-year-old Spaniard was clearly having fun on the new layout at Mandalika. In a long stint, the Moto2 rookie built up more and more feeling and goes into qualifying Saturday in high spirits. He hopes that the data comparison with his experienced pit neighbor will help him gain new insights that will allow him to close the gap to the top 10 in FP3.

It's been an extremely impressive first few sessions for everyone involved, the learning curve is going up with every lap completed and the potential is palpable in both LIQUI MOLY Intact GP riders - what will the Saturday of the second race weekend of 2022 hold in store, which starts at 01:50 (CET) following a minor schedule change?

Top 10 combined:
1. Jake Dixon (Inde GASGAS Aspar Team) – 1:35.897
2. Celestino Vietti (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) + 0.431
3. Sam Lowes (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) + 0.594
4. Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.632
5. Augusto Fernandez (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.739
6. Fermin Aldeguer (MB Conveyors Speed Up) + 0.750
7. Albert Arenas (Inde GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.784
8. Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) +0.804
9. Aron Canet (Flexbox HP40) + 0.898
10. Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha VR46 Master Camp) + 1.074
15. Marcel Schrötter (LIQUI MOLY Intact GP) + 1.294s
16. Jeremy Alcoba (LIQUI MOLY Intact GP) + 1.303