Easy come, easy go - Vice-Champion Aegerter loses title fight due to 38s time penalty

Dominique Aegerter was crowned runner-up in the 2021 FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup after dramatic scenes, anxious minutes, and a 38-second penalty.

For Dominique Aegerter and his Dynavolt Intact GP team, it was a long uncertain few minutes, during which they did not know whether they would be able to enjoy the World Championship title. After a heated overtaking manoeuvre by the Swiss rider against rival Jordi Torres in the last corner of the MotoE™ World Cup final in Misano, race direction finally decided to impose a 38-second penalty on Aegerter for "irresponsible riding" after he crossed the finish in first, costing him not only race victory but also the world title.

This harsh decision by the race direction caused the 30-year-old to slip back into twelfth place, which gave him only four points and so he was ultimately seven points short of winning the title.

In the 8-lap race, the lad from Rohrbach gave everything in his power. In no time, he fought his way up from P5 to second place behind title rival Torres, who, in the meantime, had opened up a gap of just under a second. Aegerter's brilliant pace allowed him to close the gap within just a few laps. As expected, the ambitious routinier was not satisfied with that and so, after some back and forth, he put everything on the line in the final laps. Torres doggedly held his line into the final corner, despite the Dynavolt Intact GP rider turning into Turn 14 on the inside line. Torres eventually collided with the rear wheel of Aegerter's Energica Ego Corsa and was eliminated from the race.

The handed time penalty meant that Matteo Ferrari, Mattia Casadei, and Miquel Pons made the Top3 in the final race of the season.

The deeply disappointed Aegerter, after finishing third in the championship last season, tied for second place, has nevertheless been crowned this year's runner-up in the electric class. But it will take time before he and his German racing team can enjoy this success.

Race 2:
1. Matteo FERRARI / ITA / Indonesian E-Racing Gresini Moto
2. Mattia CASADEI / ITA / Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse
3. Miquel PONS / SPA / LCR E-Team
12. Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / Dynavolt Intact GP

MotoE World Cup Classification:
1. TORRES Jordi / SPA / 100
2. AEGERTER Dominique / SWI / 93
3. FERRARI Matteo / ITA / 86
4. GRANADO Eric / BRA / 84
5. ZACCONE Alessandro / ITA / 80
6. CASADEI Mattia / ITA / 79
7. PONS Miquel / SPA / 73
8. TULOVIC Lukas / GER / 62
9. ALDEGUER Fermín / SPA / 51
10. HERNANDEZ Yonny / COL / 47
11. OKUBO Hikari / JPN / 45
12. ZANNONI Kevin / ITA / 44
13. PEROLARI Corentin / FRA / 31
14. MANTOVANI Andrea / ITA / 29
15. HERRERA Maria / SPA / 27
16. CARDELUS Xavi / AND / 21
17. IWEMA Jasper / NED / 13
18. PIRES Andre / POR / 12
19. VALTULINI Stefano / ITA / 1