Marcel
Schrötter

Moto 2
CategoryMoto2
Date of birth02.01.1993
Place of birthLandsberg am Lech
NationalityGerman
Height171 cm
Weight68 kg
Family Statusunmarried

At the age of 2 years Marcel made his first acquaintance with the two-wheeled sport as a passenger in the Yamaha PW 50 side car of his big brother Benjamin. But he wanted to ride himself. This was when the adventure motorsport really went off! Marcel took part in his first race with 3.5 years old in the summer of 1996 on a motocross circuit. For his fourth birthday, "Celly" got a new KTM, with which he was competing at some smaller motocross races for a period of 1.5 years.

At the end of 1999, he switched to the road-racing scene and started in the Pocket-Bike class. After grabbing 5th position in his first season, he joined the DMSB Road Racing junior team, which he still belongs to today. In his second Pocket-Bike season he succeeded with 3rd place and in 2002 he finished his Pocket-Bike career with the German junior class title. This was followed by the move to the Mini-Bike class (GMR-KTM 65cc) in 2003. In this new category, Marcel finished the first year in 5th and a year later in 3rd.

The next step took place in 2005, when he competed in the ADAC Junior Cup on a 125cc Aprilia. The first season was very successful for the youngest rookie. He was third and won the first race in Hungary on the Pannoniaring. In 2006 he took pole in the first race, followed by two victories at Oschersleben and the Lausitzring. In the end, he missed only four points to the title.

In 2007, Marcel made his first season in the 125 IDM (International German Motorcycle Championship) and finished his rookie year in fifth position before he won the title for the next two years in 2008 and 2009.

In 2008, the German Youngster made his debut in the World Championship as a wildcard rider on the Sachsenring. In 2009, he started in three more races and impressed with a fantastic fifth place at the Valencia final. His first complete season in the World Championship was in 2010 for the Interwetten Honda 125 Team. In 2011, Schrötter switched to the newly founded Mahindra Racing Team, for which he had ridden almost a year and a half, first in the 125cc class and later in the Moto3 class.

Rapid move up to the Moto2 class, changing motorbikes and top 10 in the 2014 season
After he and the team went separate ways following his home race at the Sachsenring in 2012, Schrötter entered the Moto2 class in the middle of the year, where he competed for the Desguaces La Torre SAG team with a Bimota chassis. He stayed with the team also in 2013, but switched to a Kalex chassis. In 2014 the German changed to Tech3 and experienced his best Moto2 season so far, by finishing in 10th in the overall standings. He stayed in the French team in 2015, but ended the season only in 20th place. He moved to the AGR team in 2016, returned to a Kalex chassis and finished the season in 14th place.

For the 2017 season, Marcel Schrötter signed with the Dynavolt Intact GP team
From this season on Marcel belongs to the Moto2 team from Memmingen in Bavaria. Once again, he will switch the motorcycle brand and will fight for points aboard of a Suter chassis and alongside his German compatriot Sandro Cortese. His focus is on constant top-10 results and on setting as many highlights as possible.

We use cookies to statistically evaluate your visit to our site. The evaluation is anonymous. We do not collect personal user data.
More information can be found here: Privacy Policy

Marcel
Schrötter

Moto 2
RennserieMoto2
Geburtsdatum02.01.1993
GeburtsortLandsberg am Lech
Nationalitätdeutsch
Größe171 cm
Gewicht68 kg
Familienstandledig

Im zarten Alter von 2 Jahren machte Marcel seine erste Bekanntschaft mit dem Zweirad(Dreirad)-Sport, als Beifahrers seines großen Bruders Benjamin im Seitenwagen einer Yamaha PW 50. Doch er wollte unbedingt selber fahren. So ging das Abenteuer Motorradsport richtig los! Sein erstes Rennen fuhr Marcel im Sommer 1996 mit 3,5 Jahren in Reichling auf der dortigen Motocross-Strecke. Zum seinem vierten Geburtstag bekam »Celly« eine neue KTM, mit der er 1,5 Jahre an einigen kleineren Motocross-Rennen teilnahm.

Ende 1999 wechselte er in die Straßenrennszene aufs Pocket-Bike. Nach seiner ersten Saison, in der er Platz 5 belegte, kam er ins DMSB-Road-Racing-Junior-Team, zu dem er heute noch gehört. Die zweite Saison auf dem Pocket-Bike endete auf Platz 3. 2002 beendete er seine Poket-Bike-Karriere mit dem Deutschen Meistertitel in der Nachwuchsklasse. Es folgte 2003 der Umstieg aufs Mini-Bike (GMR-KTM 65 ccm). In dieser neuen Klasse belegte Marcel im ersten Jahr den 5. Platz und ein Jahr darauf bereits den 3. Platz.

Der nächste Schritt erfolgte im Jahr 2005, als er auf einer Aprilia 125 ccm im ADAC-Junior-Cup an den Start ging. Die erste Saison verlief für den jüngsten Rookie sehr erfolgreich. Er wurde auf Anhieb Dritter und gewann das erste Rennen in Ungarn auf dem Pannoniaring. In der Saison 2006 im ADAC-Junior-Cup holte er im ersten Rennen die Pole, es folgten zwei Siege in Oschersleben und auf dem Laussitzring. Am Ende fehlten ihm lediglich vier Punkte zum Titel. 

Im Jahr 2007 fuhr Marcel seine erste Saison in der IDM 125 (Internationale Deutsche Motorradmeisterschaft) und belegte in seinem Rookie-Jahr Gesamtplatz fünf, bevor er die folgenden zwei Jahre, 2008 und 2009, jeweils den Titel für sich entschied.

Im Jahr 2008 machte der deutsche Youngster sein WM-Debüt als Wildcard-Fahrer auf dem Sachsenring. 2009 folgten drei weitere Starts mit einem überaus beeindruckenden fünften Platz im Final-Rennen in Valencia. Seine erste komplette Saison in der Weltmeisterschaft bestritt er im Jahr 2010 für das Interwetten Honda 125 Team. 2011 wechselte Schrötter in das neu gegründete Team Mahindra Racing, für das er fast eineinhalb Jahre gefahren ist, zuerst in der 125ccm-Klasse und später in der Moto3-Klasse.

Rasanter Aufstieg in die Moto2, wechselnde Motorräder und Top-10-Gesamtrang in der Saison 2014

Nachdem er und das Team nach seinem Heimrennen auf dem Sachsenring 2012 getrennte Wege gingen, stieg Schrötter mitten in der Saison in die Moto2-Klasse auf, wo er für das Desguaces La Torre SAG Team mit einem Bimota-Chassis an den Start ging. 2013 blieb er bei dem Team, fuhr allerdings eine Kalex. 2014 wechselte der Deutsche zu Tech3 und fuhr seine bisher beste Saison, indem er den zehnten Gesamtrang holte. 2015 blieb er in der französischen Mannschaft, beendete die Saison aber nur auf Gesamtrang 20. Für 2016 wechselt er ins AGR Team und kehrte gleichzeitig zu Kalex zurück, auf der er die Saison auf dem 14. Platz beendete.

Für die Saison 2017 unterzeichnete Marcel Schrötter im Dynavolt Intact GP Team

Ab dieser Saison gehört Marcel zu dem Rennstall aus Memmingen. Erneut wechselt er die Motorradmarke und wird an Bord einer Suter und an der Seite seines deutschen Landsmannes Sandro Cortese um Punkte kämpfen. Dabei liegt sein Fokus auf konstanten Top-10-Ergebnissen und darauf, so viele Highlights wie möglich zu setzen.

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihren Besuch auf unserer Seite statistisch auszuwerten. Die Auswertung ist anonym, es werden keine persönlichen Nutzerdaten erfasst.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: Datenschutzhinweise