Lukas Tulovic scores strong eleventh place in Le Mans, Senna Agius takes P19

In the action-packed Moto2 race at Le Mans, LIQUI MOLY Husqvarna Intact GP rider Lukas Tulovic was hot on the heels of the top 10 and took home another five world championship points. But Australian Senna Agius also made progress in his learning curve and crossed the French finish line in 19th place.

Sunshine, a new spectator record, and a large portion of action - that's what the fifth race of the season of the Moto2 World Championship at the traditional French circuit of Le Mans had to offer. Only two laps after the start, there was a violent crash that eventually led to the race being red-flagged on lap three. A short time later, the sprint race, now reduced to 14 laps, was restarted.

The experienced Lukas Tulovic could not get out of the chaos and so the German made a solid start, as before in race 1. Coming from position 15, he immediately gained a few positions and finally lined up in position 13 to then make his way up to position eleven. The 22-year-old rode his race to a safe finish and was pleased with five more World Championship points and many new learnings and insights.

The young Australian, Senna Agius, showed a strong race in which he fought for the points with the likes of Jeremy Alcoba, Dennis Foggia and pole setter Sam Lowes. The 17-year-old then lost ground towards the final sprint and eventually slipped back to 19th position. Nevertheless, he returns to the Junior GP with valuable experience, where he will be looking to defend his lead in Valencia next week.

The LIQUI MOLY Husqvarna Intact GP team would like to thank Senna Agius for his professional efforts and hopes to welcome their protégé, Darryn Binder, back to their ranks at Mugello, from the 09th -11th of June 2023.


2.   Filip SALAC/ CZE/ KALEX – (+0.620)
3.   Alonso LOPEZ/ SPA/ Boscoscuro – (+1.537)
11. Lukas TULOVIC/ GER/ KALEX – (+11.588)
19. Senna AGIUS/ AUS/ KALEX – (+22.615)

Moto2 Championship
1.   Tony ARBOLINO / ITA / 99
2.   Pedro ACOSTA / SPA / 74
3.   Alonso LOPEZ / SPA / 61
17. Darryn BINDER / RSA / 10
20. Lukas TULOVIC / GER / 6