Veijer fourth after chasing Indonesia podium, Sasaki unlucky before race start

The 15th Grand Prix of the season on the Indonesian island of Lombok turned into a kamikaze race in which LIQUI MOLY Husqvarna Intact GP Moto3 team rookie Collin Veijer led a terrific fight for the podium, which he missed by a hair's breadth. The current World Championship runner-up, Ayumu Sasaki, managed to maintain his World Championship position despite a point-less result in P18.

The 20 laps of the race were an absolute test for man, machine, and the thousands of fans who frenetically followed the podium battle along the 4.3 km Mandalika Street Circuit and witnessed a thrilling finale. Rookie Collin Veijer played a crucial role in this. The Dutchman came off the line strongly and lined up in second position after just the first corner. From then on, a relentless battle for positions began, which at times involved up to ten far more experienced riders than the 18-year-old. Collin Veijer, who is getting closer to his dream of a first Grand Prix podium with every race, showed fantastic development throughout the weekend and was eventually rewarded with another 13 points, just 0.060s behind in fourth place, which pushes him up to 12th place in the World Chmapionship.

The race Sunday was less fortunate for Ayumu Sasaki. The Japanese made a costly mistake during the sighting lap. A slide sent his crew into turmoil again just a few minutes before the race started, but just in time for the lights to go out, Sasaki was ready to fight for the Championship lead from grid position eleven. This time, however, fate did not make things easy for him. A crash-related problem with the gearbox and a botched start dropped the 23-year-old to last place before Turn 1. Despite the final 18th place, Sasaki retains his second World Championship position before the chance for revenge in Australia in just one week's time. At Phillip Island, the hope of the German Moto3 racing team will try to close the 16-point gap to Jaume Masia from 20th - 22nd of October.


1.   Diogo MOREIRA/ BRA/ KTM
2.   David ALONSO/ SPA/ GASGAS – (+0.107)
3.   David MUÑOZ/ SPA/ KTM – (+0.130)
4.   Collin VEIJER/ NED/ HUSQVARNA – (+0.190)
18. Ayumu SASAKI/ JAP/ HUSQVARNA – (+19.692)

Wolrd Championship
1.   Jaume MASIA/ SPA/ – 209
2.   Ayumu SASAKI/ JAP – 193 (-16)
3.   Daniel HOLGADO/ SPA - 192 (-17)
12. Collin VEIJER/ NED – 76 (-133)

Team Classification
2. RED BULL KTM AJO – 266 (-3)
3. LEOPARD RACING – 259 (-10)