Aegerter gains advantage thanks to brilliant Misano pole

For Dominique Aegerter, the start to the season finale at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli could not have gone any better. With his usual confident dominance, the Swiss gave himself and the Dynavolt Intact GP team the perfect foundation for their title winning-ambitions this weekend.

In less than 24 hours, Dominique Aegerter could be crowned the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup winner of 2022. Meanwhile, the pressure on the Swiss rider is just as high as the competition that wants to challenge him for the title. Although only one rider still has a chance of snatching the title from under Aegerter's nose: Eric Granado. 17.5 points separate last year's runner-up in the Cup from Granado, who is currently in second place. Should the Brazilian win the race on Saturday, the title decision would be further postponed until Sunday.

But before the 31-year-old brilliantly secured pole position at the San Marino Grand Prix, he finished both FP1 and the second Free Practice session in fifth place. If it seemed to outsiders that Aegerter couldn't keep up with the competition, he proved just the opposite in Q2 on Friday afternoon. His crew once again prepared a perfectly set up Energica Ego Corsa machine for him, which meant he was well prepared for the most important qualifying session of the season.
With less than two minutes on the clock, the rider from Rohrbach took the lead and even outdid himself on his last flying lap with a 1'43.174. Mattia Casadei's late crash meant that his rival Grandado was unable to set another time and will therefore start the two sprint races from the second row of the grid.

When the lights go out on Saturday at 16:25 (CEST) for the first 8-lap showdown this weekend, we can look forward to an action-packed battle. With a bit of luck, Dominique Aegerter will score the title in front of thousands and thousands of fans on Saturday.


1. Mattia CASADEI/ ITA – 1'44.975
2. Jordi TORRES/ SPA – 1'45.073 (+0.098)
3. Hikari OKUBO/ JAP – 1'45.091 (+0.116)
4. Alex ESCRIG/ SPA – 1'45.350 (+0.375)
5. Dominique AEGERTER/ SWI – 1'45.447 (+0.472)

1. Mattia CASADEI/ ITA – 1'43.680
2. Jordi TORRES/ SPA – 1'43.909 (+0.229)
3. Matteo FERRARI/ ITA – 1'43.923 (+0.243)
4. Eric GRANADO/ BRA – 1'44.120 (+0.440)
5. Dominique AEGERTER/ SWI - 1'44.131 (+0.451)

1. Dominique AEGERTER/ SWI – 1'43.174
2. Mattia CASADEI/ ITA – 1'43.415 (+0.241)
3. Jordi TORRES/ SPA – 1'43.442 (+0.268)