Veijer crowns Intact GP double podium with his debut victory

It was THE weekend for the LIQUI MOLY Husqvarna Intact GP Moto3 team. Both Collin Veijer and Ayumu Sasaki fought a brilliant battle for the lead in Malaysia, from which the rookie emerged with his debut victory, making history as the first Dutch winner since Hans Spaan in 1990. The Japanese  reduced his championship deficit to 13 points with his second place.

The Malaysia Grand Prix at the Sepang International Circuit increasingly developed into a top-class thriller, in which the Husqvarna duo took the lead in constant rotation. Besieged by the world championship leader, Jaume Masia, both riders from the German racing team kept a cool head.
First and foremost: Collin Veijer. Just two weeks after his debut podium, the 18-year-old Moto3 rookie followed up with his debut victory. In the course of the race, which he started from P2, there were countless overtaking manoeuvres at the very front. The youngster always managed to make clean manoeuvres and also supported and protected his team-mate Sasaki as good as possible. In the end, Veijer put all on one card, overtook his team-mate and ultimately finished the 15-lap heat battle as a new Grand Prix winner.

Ayumu Sasaki, who is in the middle of the title fight, managed to keep Jaume Masia at bay on the 5.54 km Malaysian race track after a lot of leading work and numerous heated slipstream duels. This second place reduced his championship deficit to just thirteen points two races before the season finale. The finish was a very close call with just a 0.066s gap to his team-mate, but in just one week's time, from the 17th  to the 19th of November, the Japanese rider will get his next chance to continue his title mission in Qatar.


2. Ayumu SASAKI/ JAP/ HUSQVARNA – (+0.066)
3. Jaume MASIA/ SPA/ HONDA – (+0.328)

World Championship
1. Jaume MASIA/ SPA/ – 246
2. Ayumu SASAKI/ JAP – 233 (-13)
3. David Alonso/ SPA - 205 (-41)
8. Collin VEIJER/ NED – 130 (-116)

Team classification
2. LEOPARD RACING – 318 (- 45)
3. RED BULL KTM AJO – 306 (- 57)